Josh Olson on

Sitting Target

Released 1972
Distributor MGM

Director Douglas Hickox (Theatre of Blood) worked his way up from assistant director to have a brief run of commercial hits in the mid-70s. This is probably his most nihilistic project, a bleak, violent thriller in the vein of Get Carter and Villain. Oliver Reed startles as the crazed convict who breaks prison to kill his unfaithful wife. All we could unearth on this one was a 60 second tv spot.

About Josh Olson

Josh Olson  was the only student in his second grade class to see The House That Dripped Blood.  Many years later, he wrote and directed the no-budget horror film, Infested, a brutal assault on The Big Chill, with zombies. He went on to write the screenplay for A History of Violence and was nominated for the WGA, BAFTA and Academy Awards for Best Screenplay. He kept losing to Larry McMurtry, but that’s okay.  He co-wrote the teleplay for the Masters of Science Fiction episode, The Discarded, with Harlan Ellison, and is currently writing a sophisticated thriller, Tabloid, for Mick Jagger.